College of Education

The mission of the College of Education is to prepare professionals for schools, business, and industry in a global society. The preparation is based on technological skills, knowledge acquired through the liberal arts and sciences, professional knowledge, and clinical experiences described by the Professional Educator Model. The instructional programs of the College of Education are offered through the Departments of Advanced Education Programs and Teacher Education.

All approved university teacher education requirements and programs are coordinated and administered by the Office of the Dean of the College of Education. The Dean of the College of Education is the chief institutional representative and is responsible for the state licensure of students who complete the teacher education requirements. The dean is assisted and advised by the Council on Preparation of Teachers and School Personnel on all phases of the teacher education program.

Fort Hays State University is a member of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education. The teacher education programs offered by the University are accredited by the Kansas State Department of Education and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education.

For information on admission to the teacher education program see “Requirements to Become a Teacher” in the Department of Teacher Education section of this catalog.

College of Education

College of Education Faculty Listing